Congratulations, Class of 2017!

Academy of Saint Elizabeth

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
College Acceptances for the Class of 2017: Ave Maria University * Boston College * Caldwell University * The Catholic University of America * Centenary University * Colgate University * College of Saint Elizabeth * Connecticut College * DePaul University * DeSales University * Drew University * Duquesne University * Elon University * Fairfield University * Fairleigh Dickinson University * Florida Institute of Technology * Fordham University * James Madison University * Loyola University Maryland * Marist College * Marywood University * MICA - Maryland Institute College of Art * Monmouth University * Montclair State University * Mount St. Mary's University * New Jersey Institute of Technology * New York Institute of Technology * Pace University * The Pennsylvania State University * PrattMWP - College of Art & Design * Providence College * Queen's University * Rutgers University * Sacred Heart University * SAIC - School of the Art Institute of Chicago * Saint John's College * Saint Mary's College *   Saint Mary's College of Maryland * Saint Joseph's University * School of Visual Arts * Seton Hall University * Stevens Institute of Technology * Susquehanna University * TCNJ * University of Connecticut * University of Delaware * University of Maryland* University of New England * University of Rhode Island * The University of Scranton  University of Virginia * Villanova University * William Paterson University
About » History


Established in 1860, the Academy of Saint Elizabeth is the oldest all-girls high school in New Jersey.

Mother Xavier had been commissioned by Bishop James Roosevelt Bayley, a nephew of Elizabeth Ann Seton, to establish New Jersey’s first secondary school for young women. The Academy welcomed its first students in a white frame building that still stands today. Just a few years later, in 1865, a new building was completed in time to host the first commencement exercises on the growing campus. By then, the Academy had already established an enviable reputation for its academics, culture, and Catholic learning.

The original AOSE schoolhouse was built in Madison; the renaming to Convent Station would come in the 1870s, when Mother Xavier funded the construction and staffing of the train station just beyond the Academy gates.

The Sisters of Charity of Saint Elizabeth continued to acquire local parcels of land whenever they became available - an enlightened determination for women of their time and circumstance. Today, the campus is over 200 acres and also the home of the College of Saint Elizabeth, founded in 1899.

In 2015, the Academy entered a new era when it welcomed its first lay leader, Principal Lynn Burek. At the Academy, we look back on our rich and important history even as we engage in today’s work of educating young women for 21st-century scholarship, leadership, and service.